An Interview with a Teacher

Here’s a post Nancy Gedge and I have put together for this month’s #blogsync about the power and influence of books both personally and professionally.

The Diary of a Not So Ordinary Boy

Back in May I fell into conversation with @atharby (Andy Tharby, he’s a secondary English teacher) about the power of reading.  We talked about the interesting notion in this post, that one of my children knew (or thought he knew) about sailing through reading.  Swallows and Amazons, in particular, figured highly.  One thing led to another, and this post was born.

An interview with – two – teachers.

Nancy:  Which was the first book/series of books you remember getting really excited about?

Andy:  It’s strange. I can remember the moment, but not the book. It was one of Enid Blyton’s The Secret Seven. I was sat with my mum on her bed. I’m not even sure if I was reading to her or reading alone. The first page was tense, but I can’t remember why, with a description of snow and a crisp full moon. It’s funny how…

View original post 1,982 more words

Leave a Reply

