25 practical blogposts for the English teacher

Over the past few months I have read many blogposts from a wide range of bloggers. What follows are links to some of the (mainly) practical posts written by English teachers that have inspired me the most. Each post rings true to me as an ordinary classroom English teacher on a full timetable; each post contains ideas that, I think, cut to the core of English pedagogy and immediately translate to the everyday classroom.

I am accutely aware that there will be glaring omissions. I may have missed the post originally; I may have simply forgotten it. My apologies if this is so. I must warn you that I have also plugged some of my own posts too.

My original plan was to produce a document to share with my English department but I figured it was worthwhile adding to the blog too. At my school, we have identified a set of pedagogical principles that we acknowledge are vital to expert teaching. They underpin our thinking, yet can be implemented in the style the teacher prefers. They are challenge, explanation, modelling, questioning and feedback. I will use these to categorize the posts.

 

image

Challenge

Explanation

Modelling

Questioning

Feedback

  • David Didau’s seminal post on marking has introduced many teachers to the concept of DIRT and many students to the idea that they must respond to our feedback. Marking is an act of love
  • Getting kids to respond to marking is a tricky business and in this post I put forward some of the successful strategies we have been using in my department. Strategic marking for the DIRTy- minded teacher
  • I have become increasingly skeptical about ‘red pen accountability’. In this article for Guardian Teach, I make three suggestions to make feedback less arduous. How to make marking more efficient
  • This post from Chris Curtis describes how he writes with the students and then asks them to compare their writing to his. A great way to help students formulate their own feedback. When will… when will… when will I be subtle?

Scaffolding

These are just a flavour of what’s out there. I hope these posts and the bloggers who wrote them inspire you in the same way they have me.

Please add any references to posts or bloggers you feel I have left out in the comments section. (I appreciate that this is mainly a list of living white males!)

 

13 thoughts on “25 practical blogposts for the English teacher

  1. Pingback: 25 Practical Blog Posts For Effective Teachers | Ubuntu

  2. Will be sharing with our English dept…and using some of the other suggestions re questioning, explanation and feedback with our beginning teachers on an upcoming pd day targeted at developing their repertoire of practices – thanks so much for collating all of this – have only recently found your blog and love the practicality and relevance of what your write here – thanks a million!

    • PS meant to also add Bianca Hewes as an Australian blogger who writes frequently about project-based learning and how she engages her students through a whole range of challenging and authentic projects. She has had posts on feedback processes, referring to Black and Wiliam and Geoff Petty. Writes from the heart and her honestly is refreshing and gives hope to anyone who occasionally (or frequently) questions what they are doing or trying to do in a classroom.

  3. Pingback: ORRsome blog posts from the week that was. Week 23 | high heels and high notes

  4. Pingback: ORRsome blog posts from the week that was. Week 24 | high heels and high notes

  5. Can I ask if any if you would like to take a look at http://www.davidmearns.blogspot.com ? I write this blog with weekly updates during the academic year. It has scores of posts on ICT tried and tested in class, plus many on teaching methodology. The latest is about the best ICT tool to come out since Blendspace. I would really appreciate it. Thanks, I love to share materials and ideas…

  6. Pingback: 25 practical blogposts for the English teacher ...

  7. Pingback: 25 practical blogposts for the English teacher ...

  8. Pingback: 3 travelling tips your English dictionary won’t teach you | Hanna Renaldi

Leave a comment